Diversity & Inclusion

Saba Mahmood: "The Politics of Freedom: Geopolitics, Minority Rights and Gender"

Lecture delivered on November 5, 2009 at Barnard College. Originally entitled "Should Religious Ethics Matter to Feminist Politics?" Mahmood's talk marked the sixth annual Helen Pond McIntyre '48 Lecture.

Video URL: 
Member Organization: 

Eileen O'Neill: "The City of Women"

Eileen O'Neill delivering the closing remarks at the conference entitled "Women, Philosophy and History: A Celebration of Eileen O'Neill '75," held on October 2-3, 2009 at Barnard College.  

Video URL: 
Member Organization: 

Women and Work: Feminists in Solidarity with Domestic Workers

Documentary featuring women leaders from across the United States who are raising their voices in support of efforts geared towards doemstic workers in the United States. Participants include: Carol Jenkins, Maria Hinojosa, Liz Azbug, Nicole Mason, Amy Richards, Barbara Smith, Gloria Steinem, Yolanda Wu, Jennifer Baumgardner, and the Guerrilla Girls.

Video URL: 
Member Organization: 

Leith Mullings: Race and Stratified Reproduction

An excerpt from "ART: Where are we Now?," a panel discussion at the 2009 Scholar & Feminist Conference, "The Politics of Reproduction: New Technologies of Life," held on February 28, 2009 at Barnard College.
Video URL: 
Untitled
See video
Member Organization: 

Leaders Must Recruit leaders

Member Organization: 
Catalyst

Globe editorial

 

From Saturday's Globe and Mail, 

 

It's hard not to feel wistful in 2010 when recalling the excitement of the early 1970s, when feminism was becoming mainstream, women were demanding greater equality, and many young people believed they were building a new world without the limits that had constrained many of their mothers and grandmothers.

IN THE NEWS: Women's Roles in a Changing Economy

Posted November 13, 2009 by Vivienne Heston-Demirel


<< Back to the Full Blog

Women's Sports Foundation

The Women’s Sports Foundation—the leading authority on the participation of women and girls in sports—advocates for equality, educates the public, conducts research and offers grants to promote sports and physical activity for girls and women.

Founded by Billie Jean King in 1974, the Women’s Sports Foundation builds on her legacy as a champion athlete, advocate of social justice and agent of change. We strive for gender equity and fight discrimination in sports.

Our work shapes public attitude about women’s sports and athletes, builds capacities for organizations that get girls active, provides equal opportunities for girls and women, and supports physically and emotionally healthy lifestyles.

The Women’s Sports Foundation is recognized worldwide for its leadership, vision, strength, expertise and influence.

Contact

1899 Hempstead Turnpike
East Meadow, NY 11554
Ph. (516) 542-4700, 1(800) 227-3988
Fx. (516) 542-4716
http://www.womenssportsfoundation.org
Info@WomensSportsFoundation.org


Back

Principal Staff

Kathryn Olson, Chief Executive Officer

Stacy L. Holand, Athlete Marketing Manager
E-mail: sholand@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Yolanda L. Jackson, Senior Director of Athlete Marketing and Promotions
E-mail: YJackson@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Karen Kranitz, Executive Assistant to the CEO and Board of Trustees
E-mail: KKranitz@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Shari M. Levitz, Annual Giving and Membership Manager
E-mail: SLevitz@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Gwendolyn Singleton, Data Entry Clerk
E-mail: GSingleton@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Chris Voelz, Leadership Gifts Officer
E-mail: CVoelz@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Stephen Collins, Information Technology Manager
E-mail: SCollins@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Barry M. Giaquinto, Chief Financial and Operations Officer
E-mail: BGiaquinto@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Felice Harris, Accounting Manager
E-mail: FHarris@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Lindsay Hock, Web Editor
E-mail: LHock@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Aleia Naylor, Senior Marketing Officer
E-mail: ANaylor@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Liz Ruttenberg, SHENetwork Project Manager
E-mail: lruttenberg@womenssportsfoundation.org

Sarah Axelson, Program Associate
Ph. (516) 542-4700 x148
E-mail: SAxelson@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Jessica M. Blubaugh, Senior Events Manager
E-mail: JBlubaugh@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Stacey Careri, Foundation and Government Funding Manager
E-mail: SCareri@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Candice Dixon, GoGirlGo! Atlanta Program Coordinator
E-mail: CDixon@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Jennifer L. Eddy, Senior Director of Programs and Events
E-mail: JEddy@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Elizabeth L. Flores, Program Officer
E-mail: LFlores@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Cicley Gay, GoGirlGo! Senior Program Officer
E-mail: CGay@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Kerry Milhaven, Events Coordinator
E-mail: KMilhaven@WomensSportsFoundation.org

Whitney Post, GoGirlGo! Boston Director
E-mail: WPost@WomensSportsFoundation.org
Back

Featured Events

Employment Opportunities

Projects & Campaigns

GoGirlGo!

GoGirlGo!, our award winning curriculum and sports education program, works to improve the health of sedentary girls and keeps girls involved in physical activity by supporting programs and organizations that work with girls.

 


Back

Reports & Resources

Click here for all publications.


Back

Center News

Opportunities, Grants & Fellowships

GoGirlGo! Grants

Our GoGirlGo! grants award organizations who seek to enhance the lives of girls using sports, physical activity and life lessons taught through our GoGirlGo! curriculum.

Travel and Training Fund

Since 1984, we have awarded grants to more than 1300 individual athletes and teams – including figure skaters Michelle Kwan and Rachael Flatt, diver Mary Ellen Clark, ski jumper Alissa Johnson, swimmer Mallory Weggemann and the US National Water Polo Team.

 


Back

Report: “Women, Work and the Academy: Strategies for Responding to ‘Post-Civil Rights Era’ Discrimination.”

Report: "Women, Work and the Academy: Strategies for Responding to ‘Post-Civil Rights Era' Discrimination." This report is based on the Virginia C. Gildersleeve Conference, organized so as to take stock of the extant research and interventions and to chart a course forward. The report highlights the effects of a diffuse set of barriers to women's participation.

URL: 
http://www.barnard.edu/bcrw/newfeministsolutions/reports/NFS2-Women_Work_and_the_Academy.pdf
Member Organization: 

<< Back to the Full Blog

WOMEN’S EQUALITY FORUM: Looking back and moving forward

By Terry O’Neill*

Today, August 26, marks the anniversary of the end of the 72-year fight for women’s right to vote. That’s right – our forebears faced 72 years of ridicule, ostracism, abuse, imprisonment … and also hope, determination, courage, and eventually, victory.


<< Back to the Full Blog

Syndicate content