Virtual Community Project

Saturday October 15:  Gracie Kendal (Kristine Schomaker), new media artist 11am U.S. Pacific Time (2pm Eastern, 7pm GMT).

The AAUW has joined with the Department of Women's Studies at Ohio State University to present a series of lectures, readings, workshops and concerts in the virtual world Second Life, designed to foster community, activism, personal creativity and a spirit of inquiry, with the goal of encouraging women and girls to explore new frontiers in technology.

The AAUW October talk will be given by Gracie Kendal, an avatar in Second Life who will speak on her complicated relationship with Kristine Schomaker, the person who animates her.  Shomaker is a new media artist whose recent project, "My Life as an Avatar" describes the difficult dialogues that can be provoked by the human/avatar relationship.  Gracie and Kristine's project is described here: http://youtu.be/CrLItEtAj3g.

All events are held on Minerva, the online teaching and research space of the Department of Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies at The Ohio State University.  Instructions on how to access our site are on the events page:
http://people.cohums.ohio-state.edu/collingwood7/minerva/events.html.