Applied Women's Studies Program

If you want to change society, you need knowledge, credentials, and practical skills. The MA in Applied Women's Studies combines first-rate education with a caring, supportive faculty, hands-on experience, and career-enchancing skills.

Applied Women's Studies gives you the opportunity to use knowledge in women's issues as a vital force for change in today's world. At the heart of Applied Women's Studies is an internship requirement. The internship affords unique opportunities far beyond the walls of the classroom.

Greater Los Angeles offers one of the richest cultural mixes in the world, providing a wide variety of possibilities for internships in education, legal advocacy, community organizations, and women's centers, performing arts in the schools, prisons, shelters, and homes for battered women.

Claremont Graduate University (CGU) offers a unique approach to graduate education. You will have a wide range of choices within a specialized course of study. Outstanding professors in Women's Studies teach in many fields - politics, humanities, social sciences, education and management.

Contact

150 E. 10th St.
Claremont, CA 91711
Ph. (909) 607-7964

http://www.cgu.edu/pages/1477.asp
Linda.Perkins@cgu.edu


Back

Principal Staff

Linda M. Perkins, Director, Applied Women's Studies
E-mail: linda.perkins@cgu.edu

Janet Farrell Brodie, Chair, History Department
E-mail: janet.brodie@cgu.edu

Robert Dawidoff, History Department
E-mail: robert.dawidoff@cgu.edu

Patricia Easton, Philosophy Department
E-mail: patricia.easton@cgu.edu

Lori Anne Ferrell, English and History Departments
E-mail: lori.ferrell@cgu.edu

Gondy Leroy, School of Information Systems & Technology
E-mail: gondy.leroy@cgu.edu

Jean Lipman-Blumen, Drucker School of Management
E-mail: jeanlipman@earthlink.net

Wendy Martin, Chair, English Department
E-mail: wendy.martin@cgu.edu

Tammi J. Schneider, School of Religion
E-mail: tammi.schneider@cgu.edu

Jean Reith Schroedel, School of Politics & Economics
E-mail: jean.schroedel@cgu.edu

Gail Thompson, School of Educational Studies
E-mail: gail.thompson@cgu.edu

Karen Jo Torjesen, School of Religion
E-mail: karen.torjesen@cgu.edu
Back

Featured Events

Reports & Resources

Perkins, Linda. 1997. "The African American Female Elite:  The Early History of African American Women in the Seven Sister Colleges, 1880-1960." Harvard Educational Review. 


Back